The Valar

by Varda-(Valar)
April 24, 2005
Tolkien Encyclopedia > Powers > Valar

    Eru made the Ainur of his thought and they made the Music for Eru, sub-creating Eä, also called the World (universe), and Arda (earth) within it as the birthplace for the coming Children of Ilúvatar (Elves, Men, and the adopted Dwarves). Those Ainur who desired it rose and went to make the Vision of the Music into reality. Once it was made, the Ainur put on the raiment of bodies and went to dwell therein. The raiment was a veil over their beings and yet also a manifestation of their main traits, interests, and relationships. Thus did they have gender and various forms, such as Yavanna's taking on at times the form of a great Tree, or Ulmo's appearance as a great Wave of the sea.
    The greatest of the Ainur were by the Elves called Valar, the Powers of Arda. Men have often called them gods.
    The Lords of the Valar are seven, and the Queens of the Valar, called Valier, are seven also. Listed here are the names by which the Elves in Valinor called them, although they had more names among the Elves of Middle-earth, and many names among Men.
    The Lords of the Valar in order are Manwë, Ulmo, Aulë, Oromë, Mandos, Lórien, and Tulkas.
    The Queens of the Valar in order are Varda, Yavanna, Nienna, Estë, Vairë, Vána, and Nessa.
    Melkor is no longer counted among the Valar and his name is not spoken on the Earth. Instead they give him the epithet of Morgoth, as first used by Fëanor.
    The Aratar are the eight greatest of the Valar.
Reference: Silmarillion "Valaquenta: Of the Valar"