The Aratar

by Varda-(Valar)
April 24, 2005
Tolkien Encyclopedia > Powers > Valar > Aratar

    Of the Valar and Valier, nine were chief in power and reverence.  But one, Melkor, was removed from their number, leaving eight. These eight are called the Aratar.
    They are Manwë and Varda, Ulmo, Yavanna and Aulë, Mandos, Nienna, and Oromë.
    Manwë is their King under Eru. In majesty, they are peers, beyond compare of any others of the Valar, Maiar, or any other order that Eru has sent into Eä.

Reference: Silmarillion "Valaquenta: Of the Valar"